Tags

, , , , , , , ,

To say that Paris is the city of food would be the biggest understatement. We could have easily dedicated this entire blog to food – easily. French, Indian, Italian, Japanese, etc. – they are all here and they are all insanely good!

However, having almost cohabitated with Lida Aslanidou during our stay in the capital, I have become quite accustomed and obsessed with her all-Greek-food-things.

Her mother was kind enough to bring me homemade baklava, but after a few days of having had received the package, I am sorry to say that I had finished it almost instantly. Seriously, it was the meanest baklava I have ever had!

However, I was pleased and also relieved to discover a Greek deli in the Quartier Latin, which has easily been able to satisfy my Greek food cravings.

Called Mavrommátis, which literally translates to “Black Eyed”, the takeaway store is located on Rue Centier.

Giorgos Nikolaou and Spiros Lavrentiadis are two gentlemen of Greek extraction. They are working at the delicatessen shop for six months, just enough time for them to brush up on their French.

“We like working here; even though we are in Paris many Greeks walk into the shop and keep us close to home,” said Spiros, 24.

When I ask about the shop’s owner, “He is a Greek, Cypriot,” said Giorgos, 21. “He has a restaurant version of this shop, three minutes away from here. It’s a family owned business.”

As for the food? I had originally gone to the shop on a search for Haloumi. The two men, who do not work at the shop all week, were kind enough to help me in its preparation. They gave me indications on how to cook it in the “traditional way”; which consists of a pan, and letting it fry with the Haloumi’s own “waters” and a little olive oil.

The two men explained that the food is all freshly made every morning except for the sauces and condiments that stay fresh longer. They also direct me to the best wine in the shop, “Nikteri”, from the Hatzidakis Winery produced in Santorini.

The small shop is definitely worth a visit. And if anything, it was an occasion for me to brush up on my own Greek pronunciations of my favorite Greek treats, such as kantaifi, baklavas and saragli.

“With this vocabulary, you’ll definitely survive in Greece!”, said Giorgos. Funny, I am planning to visit this summer.